About Us

KCCD is a statewide organization representing professionals in adult corrections, juvenile justice, state and local law enforcement, local government and all other related areas of the criminal justice system. KCCD has a proud history spanning over fifty years of service to the aforementioned disciplines. It holds as its basic premise the improvement of criminal justice service projects, such as benefits for the Child Victims Trust Fund. It has provided a heightened awareness of contemporary justice issues. Several local chapters throughout the state help to promote both regional and statewide interests. The organization, aside from local meetings, holds an annual conference bringing together the membership while presenting the most recent criminal justice issues relevant to Kentucky.

KCCD Members are provided with an opportunity for training and to participate in community projects. The organization provides scholarships for individuals pursuing a career in the Criminal Justice field. A catastrophic illness fund exists for members whose lives have been touched by a serious illness. Information regarding national issues is provided through the organization’s status as an affiliate member of both the American Correctional Association and the Southern States Correctional Association.


In 1959, Elmore Rile, then the director of probation and parole, along with a number of other interested people got together to form an association for Corrections. Corrections was at that time under the Department of Welfare. The 1959 annual Kentucky Welfare Association conference was in Louisville, Kentucky. The program content was primarily modeled for welfare. The planning committee met to form an association and suggested the name ”Kentucky Probation and Parole Association“. The name was changed to Kentucky Council on Crime and Delinquency to broaden the membership base and to encourage the affiliation of other organizations.

The articles of incorporation were prepared and signed on November 3, 1960. Attorney Irene Pigman of Louisville prepared the articles. They were signed by Charles Newman and Joe Beatty. There were a number of people involved in forming the association. In addition to Charles Newman and Joe Beatty, Parker Hurley, Morrision Cook, Harold Black, Virginia Heicken, Mable Thompson, Libby Gardner, Mary Frances Cooper, from central office and a number of probation and parole officers helped to establish the association.

It was decided that the state should be divided into districts. Each District would have a representative and hopefully organize a chapter. The following individuals were selected.

District 1: Jack Frost
District 2: Paul Walker
District 3: Parker Hurley
District 4: Harold Black
District 5: Carl Lanter
District 6: James Lewis
District 7: James Wells
District 8: Burnett Napier
District 9: Kelley Clore
District 10: Roger Glass

There were seventy- eight charter members. A certificate was issued to each charter member. When KCCD was first organized, most of the members were probation and parole staff. The organization has expanded to include several facets from the criminal justice field: Corrections, Juvenile Justice, State and Local Law Enforcement, Community Services, Judges, Jailers, and Judge Executives.

Parker Hurley was the first president of the Louisville Chapter and Harold Black of the Bluegrass. Both chapters are still active. Other chapters were organized but some are no longer in existence. At present, there are eight chapters: Louisville, Bluegrass (Lexington), Green River (Central City), Four Rivers (Eddyville), Herrington Lake (Burgin), Cave Run (West Liberty), Laurel Gorge (Sandy Hook), and Capitol (Frankfort).

Information submitted by Mary Frances Cooper.

Kentucky Council on Crime and Delinquency

PO Box 200

Frankfort, KY 40602

Kentucky Council on Crime and Delinquency is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software